The 43-year-old has picked up his former teammate Sanath Jayasuriya and former Indian batsman Sachin Tendulkar as the opening pair of his all-time ODI Playing XI with West Indies legend Brian Lara at No. 3 and Jayawardene at No.4. Ponting was moved down the order to bat at No. 5.

When he was asked to pick his all-time ODI eleven, he chose quite a radical team that played during his times. Top Indian players like Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli found no place in the playing XI. The only Indian who made it to the eleven was none other than the 'God of cricket'-- Sachin Tendulkar.

He chose the legendary batsmen Sanath Jayasuriya and Sachin Tendulkar as the openers for his all-time ODI XI. Jayasuriya was the first Sri Lankan batsman to get to 10,000 runs in the format while Tendulkar is still the highest run-getter. Interestingly, the two players have batted together and opened the innings for Mumbai Indians during the first three seasons of the IPL.

At no. 3, Dilshan selected West Indian great Brian Lara. Lara was the first batsman from the West Indies to score more than 10,000 ODI runs. Mahela Jayawardene was next in line at no. 4. The right-handed batsman from Colombo finished with 12560 ODI runs and among the leading run-getters ever.

Tillakaratne Dilshan was picking a star-studded XI in a chat with ESPNCricinfo where he decided to make Ricky Ponting the captain and he will also bat at five. Ponting led Australia to two back-t0-back World Cup wins and is touted as one of the best captains the game has ever seen.

For the all-rounder’s spot, the ex-Sri Lankan batsman made quite a conventional and obvious choice. He went for the former South Africa legend Jacques Kallis. Other than Jayasuriya, Kallis is the only player to have scored more than 10,000 ODI runs and taken more than 250 ODI wickets.

Former South African captain AB de Villiers occupies the seventh spot in Dilshan's team. De Villiers has also been named as the wicket-keeper of the side.

In the bowling department, Wasim Akram and Courtney Walsh were the top fast bowling options while Muralidharan and Shane Warne were the big names in the spin department. Dilshan lamented the fact that he was unable to include Glenn McGrath in the team and named him the 12th man.

The full squad is as follows:

Sanath Jayasuriya, Sachin Tendulkar, Brian Lara, Mahela Jayawardene, Ricky Ponting (captain), Jacques Kallis, AB de Villiers (wk), Wasim Akram, Shane Warne, Muttiah Muralitharan, Courtney Walsh.